Top Topics

Monday, February 23, 2009

State Supreme Court to Hear Arguments on Constitutionality of Prop 8

"The Assembly opposes Proposition 8 because it is an improper revision, not an amendment, of the California Constitution." California House Resolution 8


Dear California Supporters of the Family,

State Supreme Court to Hear Arguments on Constitutionality of Prop 8!!!

On March 5th, 2009 the California Supreme Court will hear oral arguments on the constitutionality of Prop 8. The court will be hearing oral arguments in response to three cases challenging Prop 8.

Additionally, the passage of HR5 by the State Assembly, which states that, "The Assembly opposes Proposition 8 because it is an improper revision, not an amendment, of the California Constitution" is designed to undermine the will of the voters. In addition to stating the Assembly's opposition to the amendment, which was passed by the majority of voters, the resolution publicly encourages the Court to strike down Prop 8! Don't let the court erase your vote! Let you voice be heard by joining us in our support of the constitutionality of Prop 8 and protecting the family.

What You Can Do

Attend the Court hearing. It takes place on Thursday, March 5th, 2009 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. in Supreme Court Courtroom, Earl Warren Center, Fourth Floor, 350 McAllister Street, San Francisco. By attending you will send a visible signal to the committee members in support of the family. Due to extremely limited seating oral arguments also will be broadcast in an overflow viewing auditorium in the Milton Marks Conference Center, Hiram J. Smith State Office Building, Lower Level, 455 Golden Gate Avenue, San Francisco.

Contact those committee members who voted in opposition to the will of the voters: Voted in opposition of Prop 8:
Dave Jones Assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov
Paul Krekorian Assemblymember.Krekorian@assembly.ca.gov
Ted W. Lieu Assemblymember.Lieu@assembly.ca.gov
William Monning Assemblymember.Monning@assembly.ca.gov
Mike Feuer (Chair) Assemblymember.Feuer@assembly.ca.go
Julia Brownley Assemblymember.Brownley@assembly.ca.gov
Noreen Evans Assemblymember.Evans@assembly.ca.gov

Contact your legislators asking them to vote no on HR 5 and SR 7!

No comments: